Where should I be living…?

Colin Farr from findahood.com

In 2006 I was searching the web to find a good place to live in London. I was not decided on a specific location but I wanted to find a neighbourhood that suited to me. I wanted somewhere in London with low crime, low prices and I was interested to find people of a similar age group and social status to myself too.

Back then I was able to type potential postcodes into upmystreet.com and compare them. The problem with this approach was that, although I was open to suggestions, I had to already have a particular postcode in mind to compare.

During my career as a data analyst and web site developer I was inspired to solve this neighbourhood comparing dilemma and realised I had the ability to do something about it myself.

I set about sourcing a rich variety of datasets that could be used to compare all areas of London with a complex algorithm hidden behind a bright, simple and friendly web site. Last year I extended the comparison out to include the whole of England – that’s nearly 7000 neighbourhoods compared!

First, you describe your perfect neighbourhood using sliders to indicate the importance of many factors such as: age range of residents; their marital status; crime levels; school results; locality of parks; neighbourhoods with lots of gardens; income of residents and more.

pic 1

Second, you describe yourself to help us to further calculate your perfect neighbourhood.

pic 2

Thirdly, you click the button to see your top neighbourhoods ranked by suitability to who you are and what you are looking for. The results are listed and mapped onto a beautiful map of the region that you can click to discover more. Clicking on your recommended locations will open up a much more detailed breakdown of your recommended neighbourhood.

pic 3

Now in 2013 I am very pleased with the results. I am convinced of the algorithm used to find users’ top neighbourhoods. I’m pleased with the look and usability of the web front end and just starting to feel a buzz from social networks and site visitors. Hopefully people will really benefit from the useful service it can provide all potential movers.

Findahood.com really is a genuinely useful and free service – check it out!
WP_20130624_074
Colin Farr
Creator of findahood.com
E: colin@findahood.com
T: @findahood

 

 

CLICK HERE to go to the main A Passion for Homes website…

…for articles, pictures and stories on interior design, dream homes, products, housey celebrity interviews, estate agent search facility and show home search facility and more! This month includes Kirstie Allsopp, Heal’s and A Shot in the Dark, Habitat and coastal interior design.

Leave a Reply

